Sharing files with others is done for many different reasons, including:

  • Approve, reject or comment on files internally by editors or externally by clients and customers
  • Letting a production team use them in an upcoming publication
  • Distributing them to internal or external users for their reference (such as documents, presentations or videos)

You share a file by sending a hyperlink (referred to as a 'Shared Link') to the recipient. This hyperlink gives that recipient access to only those files in Swivle that you share.

Figure: Files when viewing them in a Shared Link.

Who you can share the files with

The Shared Link can be sent to anyone, including those that do not exist as a user in Swivle. No log-in is required to view the files.

Controlling what users can do with the shared files

You can control whether or not a user can perform the following actions:

  • Preview files
  • Download files
  • Upload new files
  • Approve files

Sharing files versus sharing Collections

You can share individual files or Collections. The benefit of using Collections is that when updating the Collection (for example by adding or removing files), the Shared Link is also updated.

Editing Shared Links

Once the Shared Link has been created, you can at any time update the settings such as the name, description and options. Adding or removing files is only possible by sharing a Collection.

Creating the Share Link

Step 1. Select the files or Collection that you want to share and click Share in the menu.

Figure: The Share button.

Tip: Other ways of accessing the Share option is to:

  • Right-click the selected files or Collection and choosing Share... from the menu.
  • Access the Pinned Collection panel, open the menu for a Collection and choosing Share... from the menu. 

The Share page appears.

Figure: The Share page before filling in all the details.

Step 2. Set the options as needed:

  • Subject. Enter a short subject.
  • Description. (Optional) Enter a description of the files or leave a message for the recipient.
  • Link valid until. Set the date when the link should expire.
  • Download. Select what the users can download or how they can download it:
  • Preview. Download the preview of the file.
  • Original. Download the original file.
  • Download presets. To allow users to download the files in JPG, PNG or TIFF format as well as in a particular size, dimension and / or resolution, create a Download preset in the Management Console.
  • Upload. (Off by default) Select when you want the user to be able to upload files. You can specify a folder by choosing an existing folder or by creating a new folder.
  • Approve. (Off by default.) Select when you want the user to approve or reject a file and to add a comment to the file.

Step 3. In the bottom right corner of the screen, click Share.

The Share Link is created and presented in a window.

Step 4. Do one of the following:

  • Click the link to open it in a Web browser
  • Right-click the link and choose Copy from the context menu or click the Copy link button (note: the 'Copy link' button is not available in Safari)

Step 5. Share the link in some way, for example by including it in an e-mail that you send to all users who you want to see the files.

When the link is accessed, a Web page opens showing all files that are shared.

Figure: The shared files as the recipients sees them.

Managing Shared Links

Once a Shared Link has been created, you can edit the options of the link, view the link or delete the link.

To see an overview of all Shared Links, click Shared Links in the top right corner next to your avatar.

Figure: Click Shared Links to see an overview of all Shared Links.

Tip: To quickly find a Shared Link when many links exist, use the filter on the left.

Did this answer your question?